Settings > General > Department Info
Inventory not allowed for this department
If you want to prevent users from adding products to certain departments, you can go to Settings > Department Info and tick the box for "Inventory is not allowed in this department. Exclude from overview." The department needs to be empty to be able to tick this box.
One reason for choosing this could be that you do not want users to be able to inventory products in a top department, but to instead having to place them in subdepartments.
The department will be hidden in the Overview, and in the inventory function it will not be possible to add products.
Tools > Inventory
If you try to add products to a department where Inventory is not allowed, a warning will appear saying it is not possible to add products.
The department will be excluded from the Overview from "Inventories overdue":